Your Instagram account possibly shows more personal information than any other social web page. As to this, I began to get freak out after realizing just how people are looking up my account. Setting your profile to “private” will help you lock down your privacy settings on Instagram, but you can change it to a lot more private than that, and there are various other options. You can set your account public but change it to more secure or even change by adding more security than simply turning off the remote profile. Here’s what you can do if you want to keep your Instagram profile secure. Just read this guide from SimplyGram.
Could you set it to private?
Changing your account to private is the easiest way to secure your information. It confirms that no one will see your posts or stories until you authorize them. Users who visit your account after it has been made private can only see your basic information and profile image. They will send a follow request to you, and you must accept their request before they can see your posts or stories.
Make your stories private
Instagram allows you to control who watches your stories and prevents people from sharing them further.
You can also use the “close friends” option on Instagram to restrict the number of people who see your stories.
Restrict people from your feed
It’s much more of an all-or-nothing situation when it’s about defending the images and videos you share to your newsfeed than stories.
Also, you can make this menu inaccessible to some users. People can’t access your content if you block them.
Be less visible in search
You can change some things to make it more difficult for people to find you and reveal less information about yourself. To begin, you need to follow this guide so you can first no longer submit your contacts to Instagram. When you signed up for Instagram, you may have allowed your contacts to help you lookup for your friends, but it also means Instagram knows who’s in your contact diary.
Control what people can see about you
Finally, it’s worth seeing if there are any of your posts that turn up in search. By default, this social app doesn’t allow Google to access photos. Still, if you’ve ever signed into a third-party viewer (which you may have done even before Instagram), the site may be checking your profile.
You can go much further into restricting what information in your profile is available to others. Turn off your online status, so people can’t see while you’re online. This is one of the most important things you can do. Keep in mind, if it is turned off, you won’t be able to see others’ active status too.